Skip Main Navigation

High School Equivalency Information - HiSET

What is the HiSET?

The High School Equivalency Test (HiSET) is a new way to earn a high school equivalency credential for adults. Passing the five-part exam allows you to have the same academic knowledge and skills as a high school graduate.

The HiSET exam measures proficiency in five core subjects: 
Language Arts-Reading, Language Arts- Writing, Mathematics, Science and Social Studies

How do I register and pay for theHiSET exam?

Visit to create an account and get an ETS number. The information you use to create the account should match your California ID information. For some testing locations, you will register and pay for your exam on the website. Please check the website for the ETS test fee for each subtest.

What score do I need to pass the HiSET?

To pass, you must do all three of these things:

  • Achieve a scaled score of at least 8 out of 20 on each individual subtest
  • Score at least 2 out of 6 on the Language Arts — Writing essay section
  • Achieve a total scaled score of at least 40 out of 100 on all five subtests

Can I take the HiSET in Spanish?

In California, you can choose to take the GED in English or Spanish.

Where can I take the HiSET?

The test is offered at various locations, including community colleges and adult learning facilities. Check the HiSET website for the testing center most convenient for you at: We recommend calling your test location and asking what to bring with you on the day of the exam.

With HiSET at Home, you can take the exam online at a secure location. But you need to determine if your computer, WiFi and location is a good fit to take online. HiSET Booking FAQs and selecting a location.

Where can I get more information about the HiSET?